Skip to content

Hello world!

September 17, 2009

I’ve been meaning to translate my original blog http://escapismogenuino.wordpress.com to English for a long time. The idea of starting a blog arose while living abroad and trying to keep family and friends back home (Brazil) updated with the idiosyncrasies of the cultures I was discovering as well as my many travel anecdotes.

As I started the blog, I remember thinking that a writer’s biggest challenge (even if it’s just a hobby) is to capture a moment with all its details, observations and troubles, before this moment begins its journey to a place in our brains where only lost memories live.

I remember that when I was backpacking in Europe, I sent an email to my grandmother telling her that I had just made a paragliding flight in Interlaken, Switzerland and was on my way to Croatia to discover its emerald beaches. She immediately replied with the wise advice that I should write down every moment lived simply because our memories fail.

Picture 1

my havaianas in Hvar, Croatia

I am always thankful for this advice and in fact I never travel without at least a small notebook, and already realize that we don’t need to be at age 70 to start loosing memory pieces, events, sensations or mere details…
Speaking of memories… I’ve been collecting so many in the past years, and with each experience there is a renewed promise to begin writing about them. However, time never waits, and many promises I made to myself end up falling through.

That is why this is my attempt to grab these moments before they start their journey towards a probable disintegration into blurry details and rambling narratives.

The purpose of this virtual diary is not only to share my experiences as a foreigner living in Peru, the United States, Spain, Cyprus or as a Brazilian feeling as a foreigner in her own country, and many other trips around the world, but also the facets of a travel addict, adventurous cook, photography lover and curious about all things culture related.
Assuming this blog searches for something, it is searching for new angles, new chapters and perhaps it’s even searching for a place to call “home”.

With so many blogs out there, (I’m amazed how much information we can swim through the web), I suppose a valid question would be: “why would I read this?”
I can’t hide the fact that one of the main reasons I decided to start a blog was that I am excessively submerged in escapism (reason for the blog’s name), so there must be more like me out there.
Why you might be reading this?
Maybe because like me, you need a place to call home; or would like to know more about living abroad and traveling.
It could be that we share a situation – lost and twisted in existential confusions.
Perhaps we are not even remotely similar… you are just curious to read a different perspective or take a virtual trip.
Maybe you just stumbled upon this blog, lost in this huge blogsphere.
No matter what reason brought you here, thanks for reading.
I invite you to travel the world with me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 12:50 am

    Hello dear daughter,

    How great see your fantastic “Genuineescapism” now in English available for your nice friends and colleagues, all over the world, those will enjoy experiences you are sharing.

    More democratic your smart and useful blog will be, as you make it possible for those who love you and admire you be part of your life, your experiences, your tips and comments about cultures, travels, perspective of different places and people, and much more.

    Not least, the beauty of your photos, will inspire those who enjoy contemplate the special places of this wonderful planet we live in.

    CONGRATS !!!…

    And I hope you have inspirations and good insightes to make all the interesting comments and reports. It will inspire others.

    With love and admiration…

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    Daddy.

  2. Monica permalink
    November 18, 2009 11:27 pm

    Hi Adriana – I would love to travel with you and I would love to travel for the rest of my life. What a great introduction to your blog. I personally feel like the world is too big to be stuck in 4 walls but sometimes we do what have to do, not what we want to do. One day, I’ll make it around the world. That’s for sure.

    I have a friend who’s moving to Brazil in Febuarary. I’m planning to visit when he does. Perhaps we’ll meet one day. 🙂

    Take care!
    Monica

    • November 19, 2009 12:02 pm

      for sure! come to Rio, that´s where I live! you will love it here! 😉
      my plan is also to keep traveling! 😉 thanks for the visit!

Leave a Reply

