Skip to content

green olive, black olive

November 18, 2009

While exploring Nicolina´s garden, I spotted so many different trees: grenadine, grape, olive, orange and other unidentified species (it was winter and thus many trees were “naked”).

As I analyzed the olive tree, I realized that on that same tree tiny green and black olives were hanging. There were only the small ones left because on the week before, Nicolina´s mom had picked the ripe ones – which I ate for lunch that day.

From that small harvest, some olives are saved to make olive oil. In the small village of Ergates, where time seems to have paused, a characteristic shared by most villages in Cyprus, they use olive oil made from their own olives.

In Nicolina´s house, most of the food is fresh picked and cooked daily. I love the village life of picking your food from your own garden.

I was truly intrigued looking up at that olive tree. Green and black olives living in peace, side by side in the olive tree. I always thought they came from different trees!

Then I thought – are the black ones spoiled?

I had to check with Nicolina´s mother! So she explained the great phenomenon.

Green olives, as the adjective says, are green – picked during August and September. The black or ripe olives are picked in the following months.

picture: inmagine

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2009 6:51 pm

    I live for olives, but I had no idea they were the samesies! I guess it makes sense though. Now I have an excuse to go eat some more olives :)

  2. edú permalink
    December 8, 2009 4:02 pm

    Adrianita, it’s been so very cool to follow your great blog, I enjoy very much the descriptions of your world travels and specially your encounters with our common friends like being @ Nicolina’s place in this instance and writing about her olive trees…
    I’m a big fan of your Blog amiga!
    edú

  3. December 11, 2009 9:52 am

    I’m always looking for recent informations in the internet about this matter. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

